Skip to content

Photo Friday: Insight From the 5th Grade

March 21, 2014

by Kate Sheeder, a corps member proudly serving on the Albemarle Foundation at Merrydale Elementary School 

Most of the time, our blog features stories about our corps members, their volunteer experience and how City Year Baton Rouge continues to impact South Louisiana. While all of this is extremely important and super interesting to read (right y’all?), I thought it would be fun to change it up by interviewing one of my students about his life in fifth grade and his view on City Year.

The student I selected is Gabriel Prestly. I’ve had the pleasure of tutoring Mr. Prestly in both English and math for the past two years. His growth, both academically and behaviorally, has been amazing. Gabe passed the 4th grade LEAP exam and now as a fifth grader, he is invited to attend several prestigious middle school magnet programs throughout East Baton Rouge.

IMG_2725

What’s your favorite thing about being in the 5th grade? My favorite thing is math class especially when we work on fractions. I’m good at adding and multiplying them.

What is the hardest thing about 5th grade? Nothing.

Nothing? Yup. I already know everything.

Right. Ok, who are your City Year corps members at Merrydale? I work with Miss Shara, Mr. Jonathan, Mr. Ben and you. Y’all help me in English and math.

How do we help you? Y’all take me to the City Year room and help me finish my work like my exit tickets and sometimes my homework.

IMG_0878 (1)

What’s your favorite thing about City Year? I like going to the City Year room. If I’m good, at the end of the day y’all teach me how to play chess. That’s cool.

IMG_1132

What advice would you give to someone who wants to work for City Year? I don’t know.

You don’t know? I mean they should just be like y’all.

How so? I don’t know just like help students out and listen to us. They can bring us candy too.

We don’t always bring you candy. Right, but the new people can.

IMG_0480

Miss Kate cheers Gabe on at one of his little league football games!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

