Skip to content

Alumni Spotlight: Jo Reddick

December 18, 2013

Alumni Profilejo red

Name: Jo Reddick

Current Position: Resident, Urban Teacher Center

Where I Served: Corps Member at Broadmoor Middle 2011-2012 & Team Leader at Belaire High 2012-2013

 

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year? I volunteered with CY Greater Philadelphia my junior year of college and we did a lot of mural painting, which I loved. Then I volunteered with Home for homework in New Orleans and we did a lot of tutoring which I loved… then i figured out that City year isn’t just murals, its tutoring and mentoring, sounded perfect. Specifically I joined CYBR because I had lived in southern Louisiana for three years before and loved it. My mom was in the military though so we moved away the summer after my sophomore year of high school, a month before Hurricane Katrina. I wanted to come back down and give back to a community that I felt had given so much joy to me.

What is your current role and how has serving with CYBR contributed to it? Currently I am in an alternative teaching program in Baltimore called Urban Teacher Center. CYBR greatly contributed to this as they were one of our LACY partners and I probably wouldn’t have heard of the program otherwise. I also believe that without my experience in City Year I may have never gained the confidence I needed to push myself to a career as an educator.

Do you have any advice for corps members? Have Fun. Do all of the still culturey things, not doing them is lame. Its lame and it just makes life hard… at the end of the day it’s your job to make a difference with your students, so don’t let anything foolish (like not wanting to participate in morning greeting, a.k.a being a cheerleader at 6:40 a.m.) get you off track. JUST DO IT! Trust me. seriously.

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? The potential of our youth. Of all youth. Have high expectations and they will live up to them, even if not right away. Have low expectations, and that’s all that they will know live up to.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

