Skip to content

Corps Member Monday: Middle School Math Musings

December 9, 2013

by Bekah Fallon, corps member proudly serving on the New Schools for Baton Rouge Entergy Louisiana Team at Broadmoor Middle School

IMG_20131209_105020_797

So many things to be thankful for this holiday season!!

For starters, the students that I tutor in math have finally changed their mindset from I hate math and math is the worst to hey… math is actually fun and I can really do this.

For example, when I don’t get to work with them on a certain day, they tell me how much they miss me but they get excited to tell me they did all their work without any help.

It warms my heart to be able to actually hear the impact that I’m having on these kids. I have collected some of my favorite quotes from some pretty wonderful students over the past few weeks that I wanted to share;

In a frustrated tone, “The bell rang when I was having fun with the word problems!”

With a surprised voice, “I didn’t know I could do division, but I’m actually doing it.”

With a confident smile, “Miss Bekah… I got it now!”

Encouraging another student in class, “Her test score is gonna turn a frown upside down!”

Or when they say things to me like

“I had to write about my favorite teacher or City Year in English class today, so I wrote about you.”

“I have a present for you… love,” and then proceeds to draw a heart in the air.

While we have our ups and downs with our students, as Corps Members, we strive to celebrate the little things like these. Sometimes we can’t always see our impact through data and grades and test scores, but when we start to listen, we realize that our presence in school can and WILL change the futures of each student that we interact with.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

