Skip to content

Alumni Spotlight: Mariel Venhuizen

October 9, 2013

Alumni Profile

Name: Mariel Venhuizen mardigras
Current Position: Secondary Education School Teacher and Community Development Volunteer (Peace Corps/ Mongolia)
Where I Served: City Year Louisiana, Corps Member Magnolia Woods (09-10) and City Year Seattle/King County, Training and Events Project Leader (10-11)

Q&A

Why did you join City Year and why did you stay? I ultimately joined City Year as a medium to create change and make a difference, but I stayed because City Year provided me with an opportunity to do what I love. Transforming communities and mobilizing those communities to go out and do good shaped so much of my post-College years. My second year especially, afforded me a particular opportunity to inspire other like minded young adults to pursue their own desires to see change in the world.

What is your favorite thing about your current role and how has serving with CYBR contributed to it? My favorite thing about Peace Corps is that you never know what to expect. While that can be unbelievably frustrating at times it also has no shortage of laughter! CYL contributed by developing the skills necessary to see the cup half full when you might want to otherwise.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? The boots. They’re so versatile and unique to every corps member. Mine were covered in paint which I guess you could say was an external display of my many passions.

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? PITW #159 This is hard, Be Strong.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

