Skip to content

Alumni Spotlight: Joshua Glasser

September 25, 2013

Alumni Profile

Name: Joshua Glasser      8769_10100539552723939_1526519378_n
Current Position: 2nd Year Medical Student, Medical College of Georgia
Where I Served: City Year Louisiana, Broadmoor Middle School corps member, 2010-2011

Q&A

Why did you join City Year? I wanted to spend some time serving in the public school system because I was deciding between teaching and medicine as a career choice. City Year combined the opportunity to work in a school with the opportunity to engage in physical community service.

What is your favorite thing about your current role and how has serving with CYBR contributed to it? My favorite part of medical school is the opportunity to work with kids as a medical professional in training.  One of the toughest parts of working in the school system with underserved students is seeing how home, family, and especially health concerns can dramatically impact their ability to focus and learn in the classroom.  Working in medicine is similarly difficult because many of the social choices kids make in and out of school affect their health and well-being.  City Year taught me strategies to reach out to kids and educate them about those choices that I will use forever as a clinician.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? The boots.  Not only are they a symbol of hard work, I took a soldering iron to mine and carved out the names of every student I taught at Broadmoor and every team member I worked with, as well as a few other mementos of my time at Broadmoor.  They hang on my wall and will always remind me of my year of service.

IMAG0276

Do you have any advice for corps members? Throw yourself into your work with students.  Every day is special with them, and struggling students often require a mentor who sets the example of consistency even more than they need help with schoolwork.  Think of that need for consistency when the days become difficult.

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? I learned that each child is different in a way that cannot be broken down into a few learning styles or defined categories.  My favorite moments came when the students who struggled the most in school found something academic, even if it was a small thing that would never show up on a standardized exam, that they were good at.  I took great pains to identify those things and bring them to the students’ attention because some students have few opportunities to get positive affirmation and you never know where you will find an area of strength.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

