Skip to content

Photo Friday: Why I Serve

September 6, 2013

Today’s Photo Friday features five of our corps members “Why I Serve” statements.

LeaLea Finestone 

– Second Year Corps Member, Capital Area United Way Team at Belaire High School
– Age: 22
– Hometown: Pace, FL

“I serve because I believe every student deserves the resources, support, and opportunity to reach their full potential.”

JenniferJennifer Capers-Williams

– Corps Member, New Schools for Baton Rouge Entergy Louisiana Team at Broadmoor Middle School
– Age: 24
– Hometown: Baton Rouge, LA

“I serve because I believe I can make a difference in the lives of the children, families, and the community where I grew up. It is important for me to show my students that there is light at the end of the tunnel and the path I chose is easily attainable  with dedication and perseverance.”

JohnJohn Nolan

– Team Leader, JPMorgan Chase Team at Capitol Middle School
– Age: 23
– Hometown: Lincoln, RI

“I serve because I believe education inequality is one of the great injustices of our time. I think City Year is a essential cog in altering the current educational landscape, so I wanted to do my part to help!”

ToyaToya Washington

– Corps Member, JPMorgan Chase Team at Capitol Middle School
– Age: 22
– Hometown: Chicago, IL

“The children we serve are the children I grew up with, they are the ones in my classroom. I serve because many of my classmates did not make it to where I am today. I want to uplift children to the very best of their abilities and inspire others to reach their full potential.”

IMG_0784Jonathan Doss

– Corps Member, Albemarle Foundation Team at Merrydale Elementary School
– Age: 23
– Hometown: Birmingham, AL

“I serve because that is our greatest act of humanity as citizens in our communities. I feel I was blessed with the tools to be successful, it’s my duty to share those tools.”
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

