Skip to content

Alumni Spotlight: Dacie Marshall

August 1, 2013

Alumni Profile

Name: Dacie MarshallImage

Position: Corps Member and Team Leader

Where I Served: Corps Member Capitol Middle School 2011-2012, Team Leader Belaire High School 2012-2013

Q & A

 Why did you decide to serve with City Year and why did you want to return? I joined City Year because I was looking for a meaningful way to spend my first year after graduating from college.  I looked at several service organizations, but City Year simply seemed to be the best fit.  I appreciated that City Year gave me the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of children, and to be a part of a new community. 

I chose to serve for a second year because I fell in love with the Baton Rouge community, and was proud to be a part of the impact that City Year is having in Louisiana’s capital.

What is your current role? I am a Federal Human Capital Analyst at Deloitte Consulting LLP.  I firmly believe that City Year prepared me for this position, and helped me remain confidant throughout my interview process.  City Year taught me to embrace challenges and think outside the box, which makes starting this new journey exciting.

 Do you have any advice for corps members? My advice to incoming Corps Members is simply to say “yes”.  City Year offers you a unique chance to have an entirely new and rewarding experience while simultaneously giving back to others.  You will likely be tired for the entire year, but I encourage you take any opportunity City Year offers you.  Go the extra mile, take the extra service opportunities.  At the end of your year, you will be grateful for all that you have accomplished.

 What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? The biggest lesson I learned at City Year is to be confidant in my ability to affect change.  Throughout my two years in Baton Rouge I saw many small victories that ended up making a big difference in the lives of my students. 

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? If I were a uniform piece, I would be the old Aramark khaki pants…just to make everyone uncomfortable 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

