Skip to content

Staff Spotlight: Carolyn Armgardt

July 24, 2013

Staff ProfileImage

Name: Carolyn Armgardt

Position: Senior Program Manager, Merrydale Elementary

Years at City Year: Corps Member 2009-2010 and Team Leader 2010-2011 Glen Oaks Park Elementary. Third year on staff

Q&A

Why did you join City Year? I joined City Year because I wanted to make a longer term volunteer commitment, and I knew that I loved working with children. I was really drawn to the civic engagement and teamwork aspects of a City Year, and combined with the focus on education it was the perfect fit for me!

What is your favorite thing about your current role? I love that in my current role I’m able to visit all of our schools to see corps members in action.

What is your favorite thing to do in Baton Rouge? My favorite thing to do in Baton Rouge is eat at the food trucks- Curbside Burgers is my current favorite.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? If I were a uniform piece I’d be the Idealist Handbook because I have a lot of knowledge about the organization and I love the culture.

Do you have any advice for corps members? My advice to the corps is to go all in and embrace the culture (and if you don’t understand something, ask questions, there’s a reason behind everything we do).

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? The most valuable lesson I’ve learned at City Year is that there is an immense power in diversity and teamwork.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

