Skip to content

Senior Corps Spotlight: Meghan Donohue, Team Leader

July 22, 2013

Senior Corps ProfileImage

Name: Meghan Donohue,
Position: Team Leader
Where I Served: Corps Member Belaire 2012-2013, Team Leader 2013-2014

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year and why did you want to return? I decided to serve with City Year again because I have always been interested in the transformational power of education, and CY believes in this power. With the additional factors of civic service and leadership directing the goals and actions of City Year, I knew that I had found an organization that would make a positive impact on me as a person, and in turn, would help me make a positive impact on the world around me.

I hope to be a teacher one day, and the growth and impact I experienced as a Corps Member inspired me to return to CY because a) I believe in the influence of CY on the education system in our country and b) CY will continue to build me into a more effective and civic-minded leader through my second year of service.

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? Ask for help. You may think it’s admirable to want to take on projects by yourself or try to reach a difficult student without outside support and advice, but when you combine your own efforts with the efforts of others, you, along with the organization, will achieve something greater together. Think “we” not “I”.

Do you have any advice for corps members? Strive for a positive attitude every day. In this line of work, it is so easy to get bogged down by the stress and negativity of the challenging situations we face daily.  Maintaining a positive attitude will lift you up, and uplift those around you

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? I would be a pair of khaki pants with excessive paint blotches and ink stains. I love painting walls to perfection in service projects, creating engaging posters for school events and initiatives, and carrying extra writing utensils in my pockets for students, and so, an unclean pair of khaki paints is an artistic symbol of my character and service.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

