Skip to content

Second Year Spotlight: Kate Sheeder

July 20, 2013

Second Year Corps Member ProfileImage

Name: Kate Sheeder
Position: 2nd Year Corps Member
Where I Served: Corps Member Merrydale 2012-2013, Second Year 2013-2014

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year and why did you want to return? I decided to serve with City Year because I love working with kids and thought tutoring them in school would be a challenging yet rewarding experience. I decided to serve again because of my students. They inspire me to be my very best. I am so excited to work with them for another year!

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? The most valuable lesson I learned at City Year last year was to be flexible. Events, programs, and tutoring sessions never go exactly as you planned, but if you can just be flexible and go with the flow everything always seems to work out.

Do you have any advice for corps members? My advice for incoming corps members is to connect and engage with our students’ parents and the communities we serve in. Our students love and trust us-which is awesome, but I think having a presence in the community takes that love and trust one step further. Plus, parents want to know how their kids’ grades and behavior are doing. Parent engagement is something I plan on working on this year, too.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? Well…my favorite (unofficial) uniform piece is the Hello Kitty glasses that my 4th graders let me wear (check the pic). My students did a great job jazzing up my uniform.

Leave a Reply

