Skip to content

Senior Corps Spotlight: Frank Arnold, Service Leader

July 16, 2013

Senior Corps ProfileImage

Name: Frank Arnold
Position: Service Leader
Where I Served: Corps Member Capitol Middle 2012-2013, Service Leader 2013-2014

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year and why did you want to return? I served with City Year because I’ve been instilled with the importance of education, and I wanted to pass that importance onto the youth of America. Education will always be the tool to be successful in America, and I wanted to make sure the kids with whom I work knew that.

I am returning because I just love City Year. The culture, the people, and the experience will always be an amazing part of who I am and I want to make sure the 2013-2014 CMs have the same experience. I also want to make sure I set up those CMs to be as successful as possible.

What is your current role?  I am currently the Service Leader. My job involves…well, everything. I’m a jack-of-all-trades and I’ll be involved in service projects, training, and helping the schools with whatever is needed.

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? Everybody is different and you should always embrace the differences between people. In my service year, I worked with people whose personalities were all over the spectrum. I learned something new from each person, and that has molded me into the person I am now.

Do you have any advice for corps members? Appreciate your fellow CMs, appreciate sleep, and appreciate alone time. These 10 months will strain you, drain you, and require you to maintain YOU. Take care of yourself however needed, and enjoy the time with the other CMs. 10 months goes reallllly fast.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? The name tag, high and to the right. I’m always visible and I represent City Year well!

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

