Skip to content

Alumni Spotlight: Aaron Randolph

July 14, 2013

Alumni Profile

Name: Aaron Randolph
Position: Corps Member
Where I Served: Belaire High 2011-2012Image

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year? Timberland!! JK…I have always enjoyed the opportunities to work with youth in either recreation or through mentoring programs. As someone who was interested in working in Education long-term, the prospect of being able to continue that work and gain experience working within a school was a big draw for me.

What is your current role and how has serving with CYBR contributed to it? I recently graduated with my Masters in Education from Harvard and I will be teaching Social Studies at Career Academy in Baton Rouge. My experience in CYBR gave me real, hands-on experience working in an academic environment with students, teachers and staff. I learned the importance of setting measurable goals for student achievement, as well as how crucial it is to build solid relationships with students. I seek to put both of those at the forefront of my practice as a teacher.

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? Change is hard. Collaboration is hard. Collaborating while trying to bring about change is super hard. It takes unwavering commitment and unity to bring about real change.

Oh…and you can never have enough Jolly Ranchers at school.

Do you have any advice for corps members? Embrace the experience, the time with your students, and the time with your fellow corps members. Do as much as you can to meet people throughout the community. You will create many lasting memories and friends in those short 10 months, make the most of it.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? The boots…nothing says, “I’m here to do work” like paint-stained Tims.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

