Skip to content

Senior Corps Spotlight: John Nolan, Team Leader

July 11, 2013

NOLANSenior Corps Profile

Name: John Nolan
Position: Team Leader
Where I Served Last Year: Corps Member, City Year Boston Higginson-Lewis K-8 School

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year and why did you want to return? I chose to serve with City Year because I believe education inequality is one of the great injustices of our time.  I think City Year is an essential cog in altering the current educational landscape, so I wanted to do my part.

I am returning to City Year largely because of the people.  I have the privilege of serving alongside some of the hardest working, sincere and kindhearted people I’ve ever met.  Day in and day out, my colleagues inspire to be both a better person and worker.

What is your current role? I am currently a Team Leader.  My primary roles include coaching Corps Members, assisting in maintaining healthy relationships with our service partners, data collection and entry, and preserving and continuing City Year culture.

Do you have any advice for corps members? This year is a grind.  Make an effort to consistently remind yourself of why you chose to serve.  It’s also really important to take care of your physical and mental health outside of work.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? I would be a bomber because like the color of the jacket, I can oftentimes be obnoxious.

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? You get what you give.  As I mentioned, this year can be tough.  If you choose to coast, you’ll be wasting your time.  If you put in your all, the changes you’ll see in both yourself and your students can be extraordinary.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

