Skip to content

Alumni Spotlight: Lauren Treacy

July 9, 2013

Alumni Profile

Name: Lauren Treacy
Position: Corps Member and Team Leader
Where I Served: Corps Member, ImageCapitol Middle 2011-2012 and Team Leader, Broadmoor Middle 2012-2013

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year? I wanted to get more hands on experience working with children and in the school system to benefit me in my future career goals.  

What is your current role and how has serving with CYBR contributed to it? I am going to be attending LSU Graduate School to pursue my Masters Degree in School Counseling in the fall.  CYBR gave me innumerable life experiences that I will take with me in my next educational steps.  I also was able to network with many City Year partners and alumni who have connected me a great deal in the LSU and Baton Rouge community. 

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? Every single person has something to contribute and everyone has a story.  Be patient, open and learn from the diverse individuals around you. 

Do you have any advice for corps members? I would give yourself a good two months to be fully immersed in the City Year experience. After those two months I think everyone should seriously consider if teaching and/or working with children is something they would want to do long term; we can always use more young and motivated individuals in the education field. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

