Skip to content

Senior Corps Spotlight: Emma Sullivan, Team Leader

July 8, 2013

emma sullivan

Senior Corps Profile

Name: Emma Sullivan
Position: Team Leader
Where I Served Last Year: Corps Member, Merrydale Elementary

Q&A

Why did you decide to serve with City Year and why did you want to return? I don’t often share my reason for serving because it is far from inspirational. But I suppose it has a good ending, so here we go! I initially decided to serve because I didn’t know what else to do after I graduated from college. One of my good friends served two years, and she suggested that I give it a try. So I did. I am returning because I think what we do is important. I didn’t know what I was getting into last July, but I found my year to be incredibly meaningful, and I want to help new corps members find meaning in their year.

Do you have any advice for corps members? Don’t be afraid to ask for help or advice. If you are able to get in contact with an alum who served at your school or in a position you have, reach out to them! I did this, and the advice I received was incredibly helpful and reassuring.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why? I think I’d be black or white socks, because they are practical and I like to think that I am as well. (Seriously, you can use socks for many things- they keep you warm, protect you from blisters and foul odors, can be used as emergency bags to hold things… and I’d be lying if I said I’ve never used a sock as an oven mitt.)

What was the most valuable lesson you learned during your time at City Year? There is a difference between panic and urgency. Panicking complicates whatever task you’re trying to complete because you’re so busy panicking that you can’t think clearly! (I used to panic a lot, I must admit.) I learned to plan and work with a sense of urgency, so that I could calmly organize my thoughts while still focusing on my goal. There is no need to panic! All it does is confuse people. ( I think there might be a PITW for this…. but I could also be lying. )

How did you spend your summer break? I spent a month of my summer working at one of my very favorite places in the world, Camp Royall, run by the Autism Society of North Carolina. I then visited my family in Ohio for a few days, and then moved back to Baton Rouge to get ready for the year! So really, I spent most of it in the sky. (On an airplane!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

