Skip to content

Corps Member Monday: I Appreciate My Teacher!

May 6, 2013

By: Kate Sheeder, Corps Member proudly serving on the Volunteer Louisiana Team at Merrydale Elementary School

kate and mrs. carter

In honor of Teacher Appreciation Week, I wanted to take a moment to give a shout out to the teacher I have had the pleasure of working alongside for the past ten months: Ms. Cassandra Carter. Ms. Carter received her bachelors in elementary education from Southern University at New Orleans. She also has her masters in Education Leadership from Southeastern University. She’s been teaching for 12 years throughout Louisiana and Texas. This is her second year teaching at Merrydale Elementary.

Let me be honest for a minute—when I first entered Merrydale, I was nervous about the teacher I would be paired up with. I was afraid our personalities would not mesh, or that I would not be incorporated into the classroom. As City Year corps members, we provide whole class support, which means we work alongside our teacher to make sure our class is engaged, paying attention and completing their course work.

My initial fears proved not to be a problem. Ms. Carter and I started the school year strong and continue to work well together each and every day. She does a wonderful job using me in the classroom whether it’s to have me echo read for the class or keep score during vocabulary jeopardy. We also do a great job of keeping each other updated on our students’ academic and behavior progress. Even beyond work, Ms. Carter has done a great job of taking me under her wing. When I had my doubts about what to do next year, she called me and helped me talk through my options. She also wrote me a great letter of recommendation when I was re-applying for City Year Baton Rouge.

I truly appreciate my relationship with Ms. Carter. My experience this year with City Year Baton Rouge would not have been as wonderful had I not been paired with such an amazing, inspiring and reliable teacher. Thanks for everything this year, Ms. Carter. You’re the best!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Justn permalink
    May 7, 2013 6:42 pm

    Glad to hear that your test turned into a testimony. You are blessed to have been paired with one of America’s best and brightest. Cassandra
    epitomizes the genuine meaning of Christian. She has always been pleasing, personable and a pleasure always to work and be around. She is only representing a by product of a loving and wonderful mother that she has.

Leave a Reply

