Skip to content

Why Sara Ross Loves Serving in Louisiana!

April 5, 2013

Recently, Idealist.org asked members of its LinkedIn group why they loved working in Louisiana.  Our very own Team Leader, Sara Ross, was featured!

Here’s what she had to say:

Sara Ross, team leader at City Year Baton Rouge:
I like to think that I’m a example of Louisianans giving back. I’ve lived in Baton Rouge my Imageentire life. I graduated from Baton Rouge High and LSU. After college, I didn’t go off and get an average 9-to-5 job; I joined City Year. I’m a full-time volunteer in public schools. Our goal is to tackle the drop-out rate. I’m able to make a difference in the school system where I was educated.

I love the culture and the weather. I’m from Louisiana, so I’m accustomed to our fabulous southern way of life. Most of all, I love southern hospitality. When I’m out, I smile at strangers and they smile back. My friends from other regions of the country always make it a point to mention that that is behavior not exhibited in their neck of the woods. We are all proud of the Great State of Louisiana. And we wouldn’t have it any other way.

See the full post here!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 8, 2013 10:28 am

    Thanks for sharing! It’s great to hear how people are making a difference in Louisiana and we were thrilled to feature Sara.

Leave a Reply

