Skip to content

I Can, We Can—City Year’s Food Drive

December 11, 2012

photo

By: Kate Sheeder, proud Corps Member serving at Merrydale Elementary

Pasta. Canned vegetables. Condensed milk. Water bottles. Those are just some of the many non-perishable food items Merrydale collected during their Thanksgiving Food Drive. City Year partnered with Merrydale to help organize a food drive competition. Every day during the week before Thanksgiving Break, students were asked to bring in non-perishable food items. My team and I collected the food at the end of each day. Lastly, we kept track of how many food items each class brought in.

By the end of the week, Merrydale collected over six hundred food items! My team and I organized popsicle parties for the two classes that brought in the most items. I was so happy that my fourth grade class was one of the winners! It was fun to celebrate our students’ generosity with a frozen treat.

However, the Food Drive didn’t end there. Merrydale decided to extend the Food Drive to the other four schools we work in: Broadmoor Middle, Capitol Middle and Belaire High School. My team and I asked our fellow Corps Members to bring in as many non-perishable items as they could. When combined, all three schools brought in an additional four hundred items.

I can speak on behalf of the Merrydale community that we were beyond pleased with the amount of items that were donated. All food items were brought to the Greater Baton Rouge Food Bank.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

