Skip to content

How y’all feelin? (To that, you reply ”FIRED UP!”)

October 31, 2012

Team Leaders Sara and Lauren with Senator Mary Landrieu

Sara Ross, Team Leader, Proudly Serving at Broadmoor Middle School

Recently, the Diplomas Now team at Broadmoor received a visit from US Senator Mary Landrieu. It was quite a treat to play host by giving her a tour of the school and answering her questions. It was really cool for me, a Louisiana native, to meet her. She has been an influential politician for years. She’s been in politics since 1980; I looked it up this morning. I remember voting for her in a mock senate election at the State Capitol when I was in elementary school (I must confess, she won my vote by simply being a lady. I was in the 4thgrade.).

While on the tour, Senator Landrieu visited an 8th grade math class, sat in on two corps member interventions, and attended an EWI (Early Warning Indicator) meeting. The visit wrapped up with a round table that included representatives from City Year, Communities In Schools, Talent Development, and the school’s faculty and staff.

We were grateful to have her at our school. I’m going to toot my own horn right now and let y’all know that Senator Landrieu hugged me, not once, but twice (after hearing that we arrive at school at 6:30 am), took a picture with me, AND re-tweeted me on Twitter. I’m glad that I was given the opportunity to represent both Broadmoor and City Year. It was an experience that I will never forget.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

