Skip to content

Why Should YOU Serve?

September 26, 2012

Let’s talk about life after graduation…

This time last fall, I was anxiety-stricken with this proposition. I found my mind posing many confusing questions: what did I have to live for now that my college years were coming to an end (a very serious thought)? What am I going to do? Where am I going to go? Who am I going to be?

Peer pressure was constantly taunting me, as I made note of what some of my fellow seniors had already planned: a) glitzy internships lined up b) GRE testing/finished grad school applications or c) ambitious big-money urban jobs. Seeing everyone else so self-assured, calmly and strategically stringing their future projects together, made me even more of a mental mess. In fact, I was so worried about what I was going to do, that I was too scared to focus on what I could actually do to make my future happen. It took me a few unsteady months of procrastination (and one giant job rejection) to finally understand that I needed to align my future plans with my personal values.

And as the story goes, I chose to serve as a City Year Corps Member post-graduation because I was solidly sure of one thing: I wanted to make life better for myself and those around me.

Now, let’s talk about YOUR life after graduation…

Actually, it doesn’t even have to be after college graduation. It could be after high school graduation. Your future could even be in the form of an unplanned year that you wish to take off  from school/work to explore the world and discover yourself. Regardless of the situation, I want you take a step back and think about your options.

Yes, you could go anywhere, you could be anything, but take the time to think deeply about what you believe in, what you want. Then, invest in what you can do. City Year can help you go, be, and do. So, why should YOU serve?

You should serve because City Year is a great opportunity to individually develop and challenge yourself while learning to collaborate with a diverse group of people in a unified effort. And the unified effort? To tackle one of the most complicated civic issues of our time, the education dropout crisis, by serving as tutors and role models in schools and communities. The personal benefits are huge (can you spell higher education partnerships and scholarships?), the experience is unforgettable, and your impact will make a difference. Did I mention that there are  24 unique sites across the country to choose from?

Next application deadline is September 30th, 2012! Better your future, better our future, and serve with City Year.

Visit www.cityyear.org to apply and find out more information.

Meghan Donohue, from Norwich, Vermont, is a graduate of Syracuse University. She is a Corps Member proudly serving at Belaire High School. 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

