Skip to content

An End of the Year Reflection

May 17, 2012

Dear City Year,

As my days in the program are now numbered, I want to say a few things about this year. This has, without a doubt, been the most intense and stressful year of my life. Walking in to City Year, I had an idea of what it was going to be. To say the least, I was devastated. I am not one to sing songs and chants. I’m not a fan of team-builders or uniforms. If you could have chosen anyone to be a skeptic, it would have been me. But, I stuck with it. I almost quit so many times, but I made it.

One of the main reasons that I have stayed is because of the support of my team. I know that AJ, Grace, Jo, Kasey, Kylie, Laine, Lizzy, and Molly would kill me if I left them hanging. I don’t want to sound self-important, but I believe that we embody a “team”. We have each other’s back and for some reason work as one. When it’s time to work, we work hard. And when it’s time to have fun, well… we have a ton of fun. I want to thank them for being the amazing people that they are. I would not have made it this far without them.

My kids. What can I say about them? They brighten my day. I don’t want to say that they are all perfect angels, because they weren’t. But kids are kids. I love my kids. Three of them, in particular, I will remember for the rest of my life. My boys, lets call them Paul, Keith and Chuck were my world at Broadmoor. They are three of the most amazing kids on the planet. They are intelligent, funny, and kind. I know that are going to grow up to be amazing adults. Everyday, I tried to instill in them the value of not only education, but also respect for self and others. I’ve seen them struggle and sometimes fall, but they always get right back up and keep going.

Last, I’d like to speak about City Year overall. The goals of City Year are so large. At times, I felt that they were unattainable.  I know that I’m not going to help every kid at Broadmoor or even all of the 6th graders at Broadmoor. I know that there are kids that I have made a difference with by being in City Year. And hopefully they will have a positive impact on society. As a corps member, did I solve all of the problems within a school? No, but I did my part. I’m glad that I was a part of something greater than myself. I know that this will be an experience that I will never forget. So, maybe in a few years, when I clean out a spare closet and see my boots I’ll think back on all of the things I did. I hope to become a teacher, maybe I’ll teach one of my students in high school and see them graduate. I’m not sure what the future holds, but I know that I won’t regret having City Year as a part of my past.

For the last time,

Sara Ross
Corps Member, Proudly Serving at Broadmoor Middle School

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

