Skip to content

Happiness

February 12, 2012

By Kylie Cannon, Corps Member Proudly Serving at Broadmoor Middle School

I am beginning to worry about what I’m going to do come May 18th, and not because I have no job lined up and no savings to speak of. Instead, I’m worried because my life and happiness have become so linked to my students. Some nights I toss and turn wondering if I explained cross-multiplication well enough that Student A will pass his test the next day, or whether Student B will hold it against me that I lost my temper during our tutoring session. I just can’t help myself.

It’s clear what’s happened: My kids have taken over my life entirely. When they have a bad day, I have a bad day. When they’re happy, I’m happy.

Now, having your happiness tied to the behavior of a hormonal 13-year-old clearly does not provide for the most stable emotional base. But it simply can’t be helped. Today, one of my students told me in passing that he wanted to go to Hamilton College in New York. That statement made my entire day.

We talk a lot in City Year about how our students will succeed without us in the classroom next year, but I worry just as much about how I’ll manage without them.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 5:40 pm

    I think your last sentence makes a great point: corps members grow as much as the students they tutor.

Leave a Reply

