Skip to content

Appreciation

February 3, 2012

Photo by Jordan Reddick

Over the much needed City Year Holiday break, I received a much needed pick-me-up in the mail.  It was a letter from one my focus list students and it read:
“Dear Mrs. Dominique,
I appreciate everything you do for me truly. We have been threw our ups and downs with attitudes and all. You have helped me through all of that. When I first came to Belaire High i had a very bad attitude and you have helped me get through that. My grades were horrible. I had so much work I needed to makeup, it was unbelievable, but you help me bring it up. That’s why I love you so much.
I honor you like my mother. You are very special to me. I light up in joy when i see you coming to pull me out; it’s exciting. I really appreciate every thing you do to help me with all my work and I wish you all the luck in the world towards a happy life.
P.S. Happy holidays and a Happy New Year!”
 I think my students give me more credit than I deserve though. Although I’m there to provide assistance, they are  a bigger inspiration to my life than I am to theirs. My children mean so much to me and this letter made me excited to get back into the swing of things!
Dominique Grant
Corps member at Belaire High School
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

