Skip to content

Beating the Winter Blues

December 9, 2011

By Kylie Cannon, Corps Member Proudly Serving at Broadmoor Middle School

We’re rapidly approaching the halfway point in our year of service, and I am exhausted. Bone achingly, press-snooze-five-times every morning, consume inhuman amounts of caffeine each day, dead tired. But you know what? I may be sleep deprived and I may not love every minute of my service, but I can’t think of anywhere else I’d rather be right now.

It’s a tough time of year. Our kids are ready for Winter Break. Our teachers are ready for Winter Break. I think we’re in holiday mode all around. That being said, we’ve still got nearly two full weeks of school left before we can actually check out for the holidays. So what do you do when you’re too exhausted to function, your kids don’t want to be in school, and the freezing cold (it does get cold in Louisiana after all!) make you want to do nothing more than curl up in bed with some hot cocoa and a good book?

At Broadmoor, we’ve come up with a few ways to ward off the winter blues. This includes, but is not limited to, a weekly 5-minute dance party. Finding time not just to work, but to play a little too keeps us sane. And more often than not, the kids themselves are the best antidote to winter blues. We may not see students going from Fs to As every week, but it’s the little victories every day that make me smile and keep me going. It’s seeing a student who doesn’t normally ask for help call me over to her desk in English class. It’s seeing the boy who tells me on a regular basis that school is stupid get excited over long division. It’s seeing the way that City Year has transformed not just a few students, but the climate of the entire school. That is what gets me up at 5:30 every morning and keeps me going until 7:00 at night. I may be exhausted, but I know that for all the sleep I’m lacking, my students are gaining so much more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

