Skip to content

Why I Serve: City Year’s Power to Affect Tranformative Change

November 16, 2011

By Brendan Csaposs, Corps Member Proudly Serving at Belaire High School

“Why are you doing City Year,” is a question I’ve become all too familiar with over the past year.  After teaching full-time for two years with Teach For America (with a full-time teacher salary), most people cannot fathom why I would take what many would view as “downgrade” to become “just” a City Year Corps Member.  I say “just” because to me, those people couldn’t be further from the truth.

I became close to City Year and the iconic red jacket early on in my first year of teaching.  My significant other was a Corps Member, and I saw him off to work every morning in his bomber.  I knew something was missing in my own life.  What I was doing didn’t feel like service to me no matter how hard it was and how much I did for my students.  City Year had an allure I couldn’t get from teaching every day and I wanted that allure.  I became somewhat of a groupie of City Year; showing up at service events and traveling to the City Year Summit in Los Angeles. 

Through it all I knew City Year’s culture of idealism was something I wanted to be a part of.  Since I first stepped through the door, I’ve known I made the right choice.  I truly believe that City Year has the power to affect transformative change over entire schools.  I think by stepping out of my classroom I now have the power to positively impact more students than I ever could before.

One Comment leave one →
  1. G Morgan permalink
    November 18, 2011 10:34 pm

    You ROCK! Proud of all you are doing for the young people of Baton Rouge!

Leave a Reply

