Skip to content

My Students Are My Inspiration

November 14, 2011

By Jordan Reddick, Corps Member Proudly Serving at Broadmoor Middle School

A lot of the time…
when I get home, and I think about my kids [or “students”] I really want to just break down and cry [most of the time I probably actually shed some tears.]
Not because I’m frustrated or sad really… but because they amaze me… everyday. They may not ever understand why I care about them so much, I may not ever understand why I care about them so much. These kids are incredible… I wake up at 5:25 every morning for THEM. For no other reason than to see, work with, and be inspired by them. Of course, they are difficult a lot of the time… but that makes even the smallest victories so life altering. I don’t even look forward to weekends anymore… I look forward to the work week.

Seeing how happy these kids are to see me… receiving so… SO many hugs a day from these “troubled”, low performing kids that have so many stresses outside of school… knowing that I am probably one of very few positive people in their lives does just as much for me, if not more, than it does for them.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

